The Reluctant Prospector

head_left_image

Do You Really Have to List to Last? A Free SWS Teleseminar with Guest-Host Jim Kimmons

"You Have to List to Last!" free teleseminar

Ever heard that before? Probably so - most real estate agents have heard this advice from their well-meaning mentors, trainers, gurus and associates. It simply means that if you don't have listings (that is, that you represent sellers), you won't succeed in your real estate career.

There are plenty of reasons industry pundits feel this way, and some of those reasons are absolutely valid. As a solo agent, you can probably handle far more active listings than active buyers. Listings have the potential to generate even more business, both from sellers who see your sign in their neighbors' yards and from buyers who call you to inquire about your listings. Listings give you something to advertise in print media or online. And there's just something about being a strong listing agent that feels more "mature" than being a strong buyer agent.

My feeling on the matter is that an ideal business model has agents working with both buyers and sellers, more or less equally. After all, the purchase transaction and sale transaction of a home are two sides of the same coin - you can't sell a home without a buyer and you can't buy a home without a seller, and the more you know about the other side of the transaction, the better you're able to advise and support your buyer or seller client.

But the fact is that not everyone is well-suited to be a listing agent! Yes, I said that out loud. Some agents will be far happier and therefore more successful working primarily with buyers and there's nothing in the world wrong with that!

This Thursday, May 5th, Jim Kimmons, the About.com real estate guru(!) and I will talk about the myth of Listing to Last and help you decide if working primarily with buyers might be a good fit for you, and we'll all learn more about Jim's own exclusive buyer broker business model in Taos, New Mexico.

Join us? 

THE DETAILS
Date: Thursday, May 5th, 2011
Time: 8:00am Pacific / 9:00am Mountain / 10:00am Central / 11:00am Eastern 
Duration: 60 - 90 minutes
Equipment Needed: A computer with a high-speed connection and speakers or a telephone
Cost: Free to attend live, but you must register, HERE.

It's Here!

 

The More Fun You Have Selling Real Estate, the More Real Estate You Will Sell! 
(True Story)
Order Your Here!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comment balloon 7 commentsJennifer Allan-Hagedorn • May 04 2011 08:26AM
Do You Really Have to List to Last? A Free SWS Teleseminar with Guest…
share
"You Have to List to Last! " Ever heard that before? Probably so - most real estate agents have heard this advice from their well-meaning mentors, trainers, gurus and associates. It simply means that if you don't have listings (that… more